top of page

Philosophy: Renewed Hope in a Jar Water Cream



I've always struggled with dry, sensitive skin. I've had eczema my entire life and in my first semester of college, it got so bad that my dermatologist said it was one of the worst cases she had ever seen. I've tried all kinds of products advertising how 'hydrating' or 'natural' they are and I've had many more bad or neutral reactions than products that have actually solved some of my issues. Because of all of this, Influenster thought I was a perfect candidate to try Philosophy's new product: Renewed Hope in a Jar Water Cream.

This product is intended to be a twice a day daily moisturizer and with its patented hydration complex using Norwegian glacial water and hyaluronic acid it provides an instantaneous 86 percent boost in hydration that will last 72-hours. This is based on two clinical studies, each with 31 subjects aged 18-60. This product costs $39 per unit or $19.50 per ounce of product. If used appropriately each unit should last about one to two months.

My personal experience with the product over the two weeks that I tested it was that it left my skin feeling hydrated without feeling sticky or slimy as some moisturizers do. My other chief concern when trying new products is whether it aggravates my skin, which this did not cause me to get any eczema patches or create acne. It did leave a slight tingling or burning sensation the first couple of times I used it and so I strongly recommend trying this on a small patch of skin on your inner wrist if you're very sensitive before applying it to your face. I didn't love the texture, and some of the ingredients felt unnecessary such as fragrance and coloring.

For hazard information, I refer to the GoodGuide which takes into account professional ingredient recommendations to rate products on the hazard they pose. They have not yet rated this particular product, though Philosophy's overall brand rating is quite low at 3.2. This particular product is free of parabens and sulfates. However, their saving grace was their SkinSafe rating, which tests allergens for skin sensitivity. The original Philosophy Renewed Hope in a Jar product received a 91, which is the score I will apply until SkinSafe rates the newer version specifically.


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page