top of page

Take me out to the ball game



Today was equal parts productive and fun, over the course of the day I worked on cleaning, and went to the dentist, my teeth are great, thanks. In the evening I drove to Seattle and picked up my friend Lauren for dinner and the Mariners baseball game against the Angels. We followed a Nudge written by a Mariners wife who is a local expert on the best food and seats in and around T-mobile Park, spoiler: she was 100 percent right about everything and I would do it all again just for the food.

We grabbed sandwiches at Paseo’s which is .3 miles from the stadium and a very short walk. It was a Caribbean restaurant that served marinated pulled pork sandwiches and bowls coated in garlic aioli and topped with jalapenos and onions. It was some of the best Caribbean food I’ve ever had in my life, and that’s coming from someone who lived in the Caribbean for a month. I have no idea what region of the Caribbean this food originates from but I can guarantee I’ll be back for more. Just writing this has me salivating.

After filling our stomachs with delicious sandwiches we proceeded to our seats in section 330, which was situated just behind home plate, high enough up to have a vantage of the whole field but low enough that you could see everything happening on the mound. If the Mariners had played a better game we may have spent more time actually sitting in our perfectly placed, affordable seats, however by the fifth inning it was 8-0 with the Angels having just gotten a grand slam.

At the top of the third inning we went on a mission to find On Deck Donuts, the dessert that Alexis Pence claimed was a must-have. (Alexis Pence was damn right.) We found On Deck Donuts on the first floor around the corner leading to the Hall of Fame, it was hidden out of view but the smell could draw you out of your seat. They were simple miniature fried donuts with a myriad of toppings to choose from. What we had and I highly recommend was the warm chocolate glaze - which was a thick, coat-the-roof-of-your-mouth-in-deliciousness, oozing with sugar kind of satisfaction, and miniature m&m’s which contributed a satisfactory crunch without taking away from the chocolate decadence.

After the fifth inning we left, accompanied by the Sun which was setting in rays of pink and blue across the horizon. A gorgeous end to a fantastic day.



You Might Also Like:
bottom of page